Jackson County, Oregon, USA

FINANCE DEPARTMENT
Jackson County Courthouse
10 South Oakdale Ave.
Medford, Oregon 97501

July 25, 2017
You are here : Taxation  >  Foreclosure Process
Foreclosure Process
Time Line
APPROXIMATE DATE ACTION BY COUNTY ACTION BY TAXPAYER OR LIEN HOLDER TO END FORECLOSURE PROCESS
May 16,
or as soon thereafter as possible
Delinquent notices are sent indicating the date that foreclosure proceedings are to begin. Payment of delinquent tax and interest for the year(s) causing foreclosure. Tax is subject to foreclosure when the oldest year becomes 3 year delinquent, that year and any previous year (s) would need to be paid to stop a foreclosure. Bankruptcy filing will stop the foreclosure (provide notice to tax office)
July 1 – 15 Letters are sent by regular and certified mail to owners of property subject to foreclosure. Payment of delinquent tax and interest for all of the year(s) causing foreclosure. Bankruptcy filing will stop the foreclosure (provide notice to tax office)
Payment by cash, cashier's check, or money order required.
August 16,
or as soon thereafter as possible
Foreclosure list published in a newspaper of general circulation in the county, usually the Mail Tribune.
Application for judgment filed in circuit court.
Payment of delinquent tax and interest for the year(s) causing foreclosure plus a penalty of 5% of the total tax and interest owed on the property. Bankruptcy filing will stop the foreclosure (provide notice to tax office) Payment by cash, cashier's check, or money order required.
30 days after publication Judgment is granted by the circuit court.
2-year redemption period begins
During the redemption period, payments may only be accepted from parties with a recorded interest in the property as of the date of the judgment. Bankruptcy filing after judgment will no longer stop the foreclosure process.
All taxes and interest shown on the judgment plus additional interest and penalties must be paid in full.  Payment by cash, cashier's check, or money order required. Partial payments cannot be accepted.
1 year after judgment is granted. County sends letters by regular and  certified mail to owners, and lien holders  that the redemption period will expire in 1 year.
1 year, 11 months after judgment is granted. Notice of expiration of redemption period is published in two weekly issues of a newspaper.
2 years after judgment is granted. Redemption period ends. Property is deeded to the county. All ownership & lien interest rights are lost.