Death certificates are available through Jackson County Vital Records within 6 months of the date of death. There are two types of death certificates: a long form and a short form. The short form is required for property transfers and vehicle title transfers. The short form became effective Jan 1, 2014, under House Bill 2093.
Death records are confidential in Oregon. Property records are public information and a certified copy of the death record is maintained with the property records, this is the reason the county clerk’s office can only accept a short form. The Jackson County Death Certificate Order Forms are located at the bottom of the webpage.
- VITAL RECORDS FEES TO INCREASE BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2016. Approved by legislature, vital records fees will be increasing by $5 starting January 1, 2016. There will also be a fee increase for additional copies and for corrections needed on the death certificates. For more information on the increase in fees visit, Vital Records FAQs
- $25.00 for the first copy and $20.00 for each additional copy ordered at the same time for the same person
- We accept Cash, Check, Visa, Master Card, Discover and American Express
For frequently asked questions, click on : Oregon Health Authority Vital Records FAQs