Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
May 30, 2023
You are here : Commissions & Committees  >  Committees  >  Marijuana Advisory Committee
Marijuana Advisory Committee

Ordinance No. 2017-15 (effective December 26, 2017) added Chapter 295, Marijuana Advisory Committee, to the Codified Ordinances of Jackson County.  The purpose of the Marijuana Advisory Committee (Advisory Committee) is to provide recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners (Board) on issues related to marijuana, including issues presented by the production, processing, wholesaling, and distribution of marijuana in the unincorporated County.

The Advisory Committee is comprised of seven members who serve a four year term (the initial terms are staggered).  The membership includes two members who are actively engaged in the medical or recreational marijuana industry; the Jackson County Sheriff or his designee; one member who owns rural residential property in Jackson County and who is not engaged in the medical or recreational marijuana industry; one member who engages in traditional agriculture in Jackson County and who is not engaged in the medical or recreational marijuana industry; and two members who represent the general public.  In addition, the Jackson County Development Services Director, the Jackson County Watermaster (or designee), and one member of the Board are appointed as non-voting, ex officio members of the Advisory Committee.

To apply for a committee, please complete our online committee application or download the PDF and mail your application to us.

Meeting Minutes

Name Term Begin Term End
Obie Strickler 07/01/2021 06/30/2025
Cheryl Johnson 01/31/2018 06/30/2023
Susan Rachor 01/31/2018 06/30/2023
Jerry May 07/01/2021 06/30/2025
Frank Grant 07/01/2021 06/30/2025
Thomas Giles 01/31/2018 06/30/2023
Sheriff Nate Sickler    
Commissioner Colleen Roberts - Ex Officio    
Ted Zuk, Development Services DIrector - Ex Officio    
Shavon Haynes, Watermaster or Designee - Ex Officio    

Upcoming Events