Emergency: 911   REPORT A CRIME

You TubeTwitterFacebookInstagram     

June 10, 2023
You are here : News
Jackson County Honored at 2017 OSSA Awards (Photo)
JCSO Public Relations Officer
/ Categories: Press Releases

Jackson County Honored at 2017 OSSA Awards (Photo)

BEND - Several Jackson County employees, volunteers, and citizens have been honored by the Oregon State Sheriff's Association for their service and bravery. The awards were presented during the OSSA Annual Conference in Bend on December 6, 2017. Annual honorees are selected from nominations made by sheriff's offices throughout the state.

The following is a list of the 2017 award winners from Jackson County:

* Council Chair Award -- Sgt. Shawn Richards (JCSO Search and Rescue)
* Concealed Handgun License Support Staff -- JCSO Civil Division
* Jail Commander of the Year -- Capt. Dan Penland
* Meritorious Service Award -- Graham Wilson (Search and Rescue Volunteer)
* Distinguished Action Award -- Tom Moxon and Aden Moxon (Citizens)
* Life Saving Award -- Scott Richardson and James McWaters (Citizens)

Sheriff Nathan Sickler expressed his gratitude for the dedicated service and selfless action taken by this year's honorees. He said if the OSSA's awards included additional service categories, he is certain that even more Jackson County representatives would be recognized. For more information about the OSSA, follow this link:
Previous Article Classroom Volunteer Arrested for Sex Abuse (Photo)
Next Article SAR Seeks Tips on Missing Woman (Photo)

Flash Alert - Click for Press Releases