Search

5179 CRATER LAKE HWY • CENTRAL POINT, OR
Emergency: 911   REPORT A CRIME

You TubeTwitterFacebookInstagram     

October 25, 2021
You are here : Services  >  Concealed Handgun Licenses

COVID-19 NOTICE:

We would like to continue our efforts by keeping the citizens and employees of Jackson County safe during the COVID19 pandemic by asking for a few simple guidelines to be followed. If you have a fever or cough DO NOT come to our facility. Otherwise, when you show up for your appointment please arrive at least 10 minutes early. Lastly, we request that only the applicant come in the building to be processed to ensure the safety of everyone.

NOTICE - CHL & Fingerprinting

CHL Online Scheduler

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Effective September 26th, 2021 due to SB 554, there is an increase in the fee’s for concealed handgun licensing. The new fee’s for a new permit will be(including prints) $115: Renewals will be $75.00, a Transfer and renewal will be $90.00 (including prints), all other fees remain the same.

Concealed Handgun Licenses

Oregon Revised Statutes established specific requirements and procedures that you, as well as the Sheriff's Department, must perform prior to issuance of an OCHL (Oregon Concealed Handgun License). This information is designed to assist your understanding of the law and to facilitate your application process. Your OCHL will be valid for four (4) years.

At the time you apply for an new OCHL, you will be required to submit to and complete each of the following items.  If you are renewing your application only, you will need to provide the same, with the exception of #2 below. 

  1. Complete OCHL online scheduler application.
  2. Provide proof of handgun safety competency. (NEW APPLICANTS ONLY) 
  3. Be fingerprinted by our agency. 
  4. Be photographed.
  5. Pay appropriate fees. See below for fee amounts and availability.
  6. Submit proof of citizenship.

In addition, at the time of application you must be able to demonstrate competence by any of the methods provided by law. Please bring paperwork and/or certificates which reflect one of the following:

1. Completion of any NRA firearms safety or training course, if handgun safety was a component of the course.

2. Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college or private/public institution, or organization or firearms training school using instructor's certified by the NRA or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course.

3. Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers, or any other law enforcement officers, if handgun safety was a component of the course.

4. Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked.

5. Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the NRA if handgun safety was a component of the course.

6. Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state, if handgun safety was a component of the course.

7. Comply with Oregon Revised Statute 166.291.

Concealed Handgun Processing Hours

Please arrive to your appointment 10 minutes early at the Jackson County Sheriff's Office, 5179 Crater Lake Highway.  Please have your valid ID and citizenship documents ready if applicable.

Concealed Handgun License Application Hours:

Monday - Thursday
9:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.
and

1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

(closed for lunch daily, 12:30 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.)

If you have questions, please call
541-774-6836.

Out of State CL Permit

If you are inquiring about an out of state concealed weapons permit, please email us. In the email there needs to be a valid reason as to why you need an Oregon Concealed Weapons Permit. Travelling to a from the state for vacation is NOT considered a valid reason. This email must be submitted and approved prior to applying for a concealed weapons permit for all out of state applicants. You must also live in a contiguous state of Oregon. We will resume processing out of state permits starting October 1st, 2021.

CHL RENEWALS

$75.00
Cash, credit card, or check (payable to Jackson County Sheriff's Office)

NEW CHL APPLICANTS

$115.00
Cash, credit card, or check (payable to Jackson County Sheriff's Office)